Harriet Richards

Harriet Richards’ creative reality was as a visual artist until an obstinate painting insisted on becoming a short story. She has since published three books of fiction: The Lavender Child was nominated for the Fiction Award and won First Book Award, Saskatchewan Book Awards 1998; Waiting for the Piano Tuner to Die was nominated for Book of the Year in 2003; and, The Pious Robber in 2012 was winner of the 2013 Saskatchewan Book Award for Fiction. Her fiction has been featured on CBC Radio, and published in literary journals in Canada and Wales. She lives in Saskatoon.





short fiction

180 pages/trade paper

Available in the US
World Rights Available


Waiting For the Piano Tuner to Die

ISBN: 978-1-894345-50-7

Harriet Richards' almost uncanny gift for inhabiting the minds and personalities of widely different characters is as evident in this collection as in her award-winning first novel, The Lavender Child.

The men and women in these stories, and perhaps most of all the children, make their own sense of a world where "There are forces at play so simple, natural, and accidental that nobody can figure them out and see them coming." It is a world, too, in which "there's lots more sorrow flying around people's heads than there is joy." That sorrow may be heartbreaking, occasionally it is horrific; but the reader is constantly reminded, with the quiet, clear-eyed and sometimes mischievous irony of Harriet Richards' voice, that in this world and — in the least likely places — we may entertain angels unawares.

  • Shortlisted for Book of the Year, 2003 Saskatchewan Book Awards


List Price: $14.95

In stock. Buy it now!

All Currency is CAD. 
main image


<<< Back to Listing